Sylvester to Once Again Make Us Feel 'Mighty Real'

By: Scott Ragan

It's been more than 25 years since the passing of disco and soul legend Sylvester, but his wailing falsetto lives on forever in dance classics like "You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)" and "Dance (Disco Heat)."

Sylvester was an exceptional songwriter, musician, producer, and stage performer, and now the lovingly flamboyant "Queen of Disco" is about to be reintroduced to future generations with an updated hits compilation appropriately titled Mighty Real: Greatest Dance Hits. The album drops June 25, just in time to celebrate some of the country's largest Pride events!

Of course the Pride Beats playlist wouldn't be complete without a Sylvester song, so take a look below at the official track listing for Mighty Real: Greatest Dance Hits and see if you spot your favorite.

1. You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real) [Ralphi Rosario's Mighty Dub Mix]
2. Dance (Disco Heat)
3. Stars
4. Can t Stop Dancing
5. Changes
6. Over and Over
7. I Need Somebody to Love Tonight
8. Sell My Soul
9. I Need You
10. Body Strong
11. You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)

To get warmed up for the greatest hits album, let's go back to 1978 during the height of Sylvester's career with this camptastic extended video version of his biggest hit record, followed by the excellent Jimmy Somerville remake, released 10 years later.

Sylvester - "You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)" 1978 Original

Bonus Track! Jimmy Somerville - "You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)" 1989 Remake